Home Mountain Biking - Adventure for Professionals

Mountain Biking - Adventure for Professionals

Biking Holidays
Print PDF

Mountain Bike Adventure HolidaysHardly any other outdoor sport reflects the spirit of our times as well as mountain biking, a mixture of high tech, nature and lifestyle, exercised by managers and dropouts alike. It all started small and crazy. Let’s leave the Swiss Army and their suspension bikes from the 1940’s aside... In 1973, the Californians Gary Fisher, Joe Breeze and Charles Kelly had the idea of using well-sprung heavy Schwinn bikes with balloon tyres to race down the mountains instead of climbing up. The media took it up enthusiastically and in the early 80’s, the first mountain bikes went into mass-production after a lot of technical refinements during the pioneer days. Shimano, Specialized, Cannondale and Trek were among the first producers. This started the global success story of the adventure of mountain bicycle holidays.

In 1988, the first MTB World Championships took place in Crans-Montana (Switzerland). In 1989, Andi Heckmair from Oberstdorf crossed the Alps to Lake Garda on a mountain bike. The alpine crossing was born, which has become a mass movement. The adventurous sport turned into an recreational sport with many facets.

All of them share the intense experience of nature which combines the feeling of freedom with adventure, and athletic challenge, but also with relaxation, pleasure and enjoyment. Similar to mountain climbing we overcome obstacles, go unknown ways, alone or in a group. Our spirit, soul and psyche are challenged while feeling relaxed at the same time.


Mountain Bicycle Adventure HolidaysWe enter areas untouched by the broad masses who cycle on paved roads. Mountain bikers often ride in isolation on natural paths, dirt roads, forest tracks and on grassland, and climb mountains, but they can always take breaks, and enjoy panoramic views. This makes for a unique lifestyle with freedom, independence and adventure and offers a great contrast to our  organised daily life.

This is why the trend has continued for 30 years. And mountain bikes have technically evolved: Full suspension, disc brakes, carbon frame, lighter and more stable bikes, even the eBike has reached mountain bike level. According to experts, cyclists will soon storm up the mountains with electrical support. The technical development of mountain bikes has opened up the field for many new disciplines:

Marathon: The aim here is to cover long distances. Usually, we need a comfortable “full-susser”, a mountain bike with full suspension, suspension forks in the front and a rear wheel with suspension travel from 8 to 12 cm.

Cross Country:The discipline mountain bikes are primarily designed for, nowadays also an olympic discipline, is exercised mostly on single tracks on a highly technical level, with light fullies or hardtails of less than 12kg weight.

Enduro: This discipline is about a high-quality riding technique on difficult trails which require a robust and well-suspended bicycle with suspension travel from 15 to 18 cm, using wider tires.

Freeride: the Non-plus-ultra of the mountain bike sport, suspension travel needs to be up to 20 cm. We run mostly downhill on freeride trails.

Downhill: The ultimate adventure! With extremely robust bicycles with suspension travel of up to 25 cm, usually equipped with a helmet, arm, leg and back protector, the speed down the hill is as high as possible.

Dirt-jumping:practised in bike parks and on special events. Very close to the BMX scene. Full of kickers and jumps, using stable mountain bikes with small, agile frames and smaller (24 inch) wheels.


Mountain Bicycle Adventure HolidaysToday, beginners can rent mountain bikes and equipment in many places and try out different types of bicycles before buying one. Before purchasing a bike, a proper consultation from an expert is required. There are so many bikes in every price range. If you own a bike, do not forget to regularly have it serviced.

The range of tours as well as specialised tour operators have both increased. There is hardly any European country that does not organise races and bike holidays. North America, South Africa with its Cape Epic race, island crossings in Mauritius and Cuba, desert trips in Morocco, Sinai and Namibia, tropical bike journeys through Vietnam, Costa Rica, Brazil or Tanzania, the search of solitude on two wheels in the Himalayas, Mongolia, Alaska or in Kyrgyzstan - on a mountain bike, you can explore the entire world as an individual or with an organised group of travellers.

When organising excursions or longer tours, the fitness of the different participants must be taken into account. Everything is possible from an athletic cycling style with few stops, well-developed cycling technique and physical condition, to an easy multi-day trip. Therefore, a proper preparation that considers possibilities and limits is crucial.

Technical training in one of the many bike parks, schools or bike-training centres is strongly recommended before starting out on a cycling trip as the technical requirements for off-road cycling are much higher than for classical cycling. A good cycling technique and appropriate speed is the best protection against roots, potholes and stones!

However, you should not forget to be considerate of nature, animals and hikers. Do not leave any waste and ride in a way that swerving and stopping is possible at any time. This is definitely not detrimental to your enjoyment.

Hardly any other outdoor sport reflects the spirit of our times as well as mountain biking, a mixture of high tech, nature and lifestyle, exercised by managers and dropouts alike.

Warning: assert() [function.assert]: Assertion failed in /home/dchardon/public_html/libraries/loader.php on line 3

Warning: assert() [function.assert]: Assertion failed in /home/dchardon/public_html/libraries/loader.php on line 9
Mountain Bike Ferien - Fahrrad Reisen in der Schweiz - Mountain Biking - Abenteuer für Profis
Startseite Mountain Biking - Adventure for Professionals

Mountain Biking - Abenteuer für Profis

Drucken PDF

Mountain Bike Adventure HolidaysKaum eine andere Outdoor Sportart widerspiegelt den Zeitgeist so treffend wie das Mountainbiken, einer Mischung aus High Tech, Natur, Lifestyle, betrieben von Managern wie Aussteigern.

Dabei hatte alles klein und verrückt angefangen. Lassen wir mal die die Schweizer Armee mit dem gefederten Bergrad Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts beiseite... Die Kalifornier Gary Fisher, Joe Breeze und Charles Kelly kamen 1973 auf die Idee, schwere gut gefederte Schwinn-Räder mit Ballonreifen zu verwenden, um die Berge runterzubrettern statt hochzupedalen. Die Medien nahmen die Idee begeistert auf und anfangs 80er Jahre wurden nach etlichen technischen Probierereien der Pionierzeit die ersten Mountainbikes in Serie produziert. Shimano, Specialized, Cannondale, Trek gehörten zu den Pionieren. Es begann der weltweite Siegeszug der Mountainbikes.

1988 findet die erste MTB-Weltmeisterschaft in Crans-Montana (Schweiz) statt. 1989 fährt der Oberstdorfer Andi Heckmair erstmals über die Alpen zum Gardasee, der Transalp war geboren, der sich zur Massenbewegung gemausert hat. Aus der abenteuerlichen Sportart wurde ein attraktiver Freizeitsport mit vielen Facetten.

Was alle verbindet, ist das intensive Naturerlebnis, welches Gefühle von Freiheit, Abenteuer mit sportlichen Herausforderungen verknüpft, aber auch mit Entspannung, Genuss und Freude. Ähnlich dem Bergsteigen überwinden wir verrückte Hindernisse, gehen unbekannte Wege, alleine oder in der Gruppe, was Geist, Seele und Psyche nachhaltig fordert und entspannt.

Mountain Bike Ferien mit Bike Holidays

Wir erreichen viele Ziele, die der breiten Masse, welche sich auf betonierten Strassen bewegt, verwehrt blieben. In Abgeschiedenheit bewegen sich Mountainbiker oft auf Natur-, Feld-, Wald- und Wiesenwegen, erklimmen Berggipfel, können aber auch jederzeit Pausen einlegen, Panoramablicke geniessen. Das vermittelt ein einmaliges Lebensgefühl von Freiheit, Unabhängigkeit und Abenteuer und bietet ein tolles Kontrastprogramm zu unserer so wohl organisierten Gesellschaft.

Das ist auch der Grund, dass in 30 Jahren der Trend nicht nachgelassen hat. Dementsprechend hat sich das Mountainbike technisch fortentwickelt. Vollfederung, Scheibenbremsen, Carbon-Rahmen, immer leichter und stabiler, auch das eBike macht vor dem MTB nicht halt, bald, so die Experten, wird mit elektrischer Unterstützung zu Berge geradelt. Mit der technischen Entwicklung des Mountainbikes sind auch die Einsatzbereiche breiter geworden:

Marathon: Hier geht es darum, lange Strecken zu bewältigen, wir benötigen id.R. ein komfortables Fully, das heisst, ein MTB, bei welchem Vorder- und Hinterrad gefedert sind mit einem Federweg von 8 bis 12 cm.

Cross Country: Meist auf Single Trails wird die olympische Disziplin auf hohem technischen Niveau ausgeübt, mit leichten Fullies oder Hardtails von weniger als 12kg Gewicht.

Enduro: Hier geht es um Technik auf höchstem Niveau, gefahren werden schwere Trails, welche ein robustes und sehr gut gefedertes Rad verlangen. Federweg 15 bis 18 cm, breitere Reifen, gekröpfte Lenker mit aufrechterer Sitzhaltung.

Freeride: Das Non-Plus-Ultra des MTB-Sports, hier brauchts Federwege von bis zu 20 cm. Gefahren wird nämlich vor allem bergab auf Freeride-Trails.

Downhill: Die Steigerung von bergab! Mit Bikes, welche extrem robust sind, mit bis zu 25cm Federwegslänge, meist auch mit einer speziellen Ausrüstung (Integralhelm, zusätzliche Arm-, Bein- und Rückenschützer) wird das Tempo Richtung Tal maximiert.

Dirt-jumping: Wird v.a.in Bikeparks und an speziellen Veranstaltungen praktiziert. Hier zerfliesst die Grenze zur BMX-Szene, es werden Kicker und Sprünge vollführt und stabile Mountainbikes mit kleinen, wendigen Rahmen und oft kleineren Laufrädern (24“) eingesetzt.


Mountain Bike Abenteuer Ferien mit Bike Holidays

Einsteiger können heute vielenorts Mountainbikes und Ausrüstung mieten und so vor einem Kauf testen, welche Form sie wählen wollen. Beim Kauf ist dann eine gute Beratung beim Fachhändler notwendig. Es gibt sehr viele Bikes in jeder Preisklasse. Wer bereits ein Rad besitzt, sollte den regelmässigen Service seines Bikes nicht vergessen.

Das Angebot an Touren und auch spezialisierten Reisenanbietern ist ebenso gewachsen. Kaum ein europäisches Land, in dem keine Rennen organisiert und Bikeferien angeboten werden. Nordamerika, Südafrika mit seinem Cape Epic-Rennen, Inselcross auf Mauritius oder Kuba, Wüstentrips in Marokko, Sinai, Namibia, tropische Reisen durch Vietnam, Costa Rica, Brasilien oder Tansania, die Suche der Einsamkeit im Himalaya, in der Mongolei, in Alaska oder in Kirgistan, mit dem Mountainbike kann man heute als Individualist oder organisierter Gruppenreisender die gesamte Welt erkunden.

Bei Ausflügen und Touren gilt es die Route auf die verschiedenen Teilnehmer abzustimmen. Von einer fitness-orientierten sportlichen Fahrweise mit wenigen Stopps und hohen Anforderungen an Fahrtechnik und Kondition bis hin zum gemütlichen mehrtägigen Ausflug ist alles möglich. Entscheidend ist eine seriöse Vorbereitung, welche die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen aufzeigt.

Empfehlenswert ist zu Beginn auch ein Fahrtechniktraining in einem der vielen Bikeparks, Bikeschulen und Bike-Trainingszentren. Denn im Unterschied zum klassischen Fahrradrfahren, sind beim Offroad-Biken die technischen Anforderungen viel höher. Eine gute  Fahrtechnik mit geeigneter Geschwindigkeit ist der beste Schutz gegen Wurzeln, Schlaglöcher und Steine!

Bei aller Freude sollte man – sofern man sich nicht auf speziellen für Biker geschaffenen Single Trails bewegt – nicht vergessen, stets auf Natur, Wanderer und Tiere Rücksicht zu nehmen. Also keinen Abfall zurücklassen und das Fahrverhalten so gestalten, dass ein Ausweichen und Halten jederzeit möglich ist. Dem Genuss tut dies sicher keinen Abbruch.

s must be taken into account. Everything is possible from an athletic cycling style with few stops, well-developed cycling technique and physical condition, to an easy multi-day trip. Therefore, a proper preparation that considers possibilities and limits is crucial.

Technical training in one of the many bike parks, schools or bike-training centres is strongly recommended before starting out on a cycling trip as the technical requirements for off-road cycling are much higher than for classical cycling. A good cycling technique and appropriate speed is the best protection against roots, potholes and stones!

However, you should not forget to be considerate of nature, animals and hikers. Do not leave any waste and ride in a way that swerving and stopping is possible at any time. This is definitely not detrimental to your enjoyment.

Hardly any other outdoor sport reflects the spirit of our times as well as mountain biking, a mixture of high tech, nature and lifestyle, exercised by managers and dropouts alike.